📢 Attention: Scheduled Maintenance Notice – On Friday, December 8th, our repairs planning system will be temporarily offline until 8 am on Monday, December 11th, for essential maintenance. Emergency repair requests can still be submitted during this time. We apologise for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding.

What are protected characteristics?

They are:

  1. age
  2. disability
  3. gender reassignment
  4. marriage and civil partnership
  5. pregnancy and maternity
  6. race
  7. religion or belief
  8. sex
  9. sexual orientation

(the above are the 9 protected characteristics under current UK and Wales-specific Equalities legislation)

  1. Language (Welsh, British Sign Language, other spoken languages)
  2. Nationality
  3. Responsibility as carers for any dependents

Direct discrimination

Less favourable treatment of a person compared to another person because of a protected characteristic.

Indirect discrimination

The use of an apparently neutral practice, provision or criterion which puts people with a particular protected characteristic at a disadvantage compared with others who do not share that characteristic and applying the practice, provision or criterion cannot be objectively justified.